How do you identify with yourself ?

I feel that as one progresses through life, a lot of things change. For me what’s changing the most, I feel, is how I identify with myself. It is so amazing that one only has oneself from the beginning till the end of this life and it takes ages just to understand

“Who AM I”

STAGE 1 :

I BELONG TO A CATEGORY OF PEOPLE

Till a few years back, I had always related myself with some or the other “category” of people. By then I had figured out that not everyone is the same. But there have to be categories right ?

Am I  an introvert or an extrovert ?

Am I more into science or art ?

What is my body type?

What type of food do I like ?

Music ?

Optimist or pessimist ?

STAGE 2 :

THERE ARE NO CATEGORIES !

When I could not 100% identify with any of the categories, I thought that maybe I belong to a category of people that I haven’t had the chance to meet yet.

Then I came to the USA.

After interacting with people from many different walks of life, I realized that there are no categories ! That is how amazing this world is !

7.5 BILLION People on this earth and ALL of them UNIQUE. 

Each with a different past.

A different future.

A different story.

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

 

STAGE 3:

I AM UNIQUE. BUT NOT CONSTANT.

And then at a later stage I realized that even though I am unique, I change everyday !

When I think of myself 5 years back, it feels like looking back at a stranger !

Isn’t it amazing that everyone around you today is 1 in 7.5 BILLION !? 

That there is no one like them in the entire world !

Then why in the world,

would you want to CHANGE the people in your life ? 

FullSizeRender (3)

 

– Harshpreet Kaur 

 

Leave a Reply

